Parker Talbot Wins €5,000 Luxon Pay High Roller (€134,279)

Parker Talbot Wins €5,000 Luxon Pay High Roller (€134,279)

Congrats to PokerStars Team Pro Parker “tonkaaaa” Talbot for navigating through a field of 111 entries in front of a massive rail to win the two-day €5,000 Luxon Pay High Roller 8-Max for €134,279 in the early hours of Thursday morning at the home of the 2024 Irish Poker Open at the luxurious Royal Dublin Society.

Despite Talbot’s more than $1.6 million in live tournament cashes, Talbot remarkably scratched a monkey off his back with a victory while having tons of fun along the way with Mac McDonald on the rail filming the entire day via live stream. Talbot is well-known mostly for his online antics as one of the first poker streamers always having fun while crushing events.

Talbot came into the final table as one of the short stacks but witnessed both smaller stacks and bigger stacks to hit the rail until he faced off with Ireland’s Fergal O’Cathan heads-up facing a large chip deficit. O’Cathan wasn’t necessarily destined to play the High Roller as had only $10,000 in live tournament cashes to his name heading into the event. He was playing cash games on Tuesday evening, and got bored after a heater and was looking for something to play. O’Cathan opted to join the €1,150 High Roller Satellite where he knocked out Talbot.

Talbot might not be Nostradamus, but he was at least for one night as he told O’Cathan he would defeat him heads-up at the final table. It appeared that this wasn’t going to come to fruition, but Talbot won an early flip and kept the momentum going en route to his first live poker title.

Check out the results from the 2024 Irish Poker Open €5,000 Luxon Pay High Roller below:

1Parker TalbotCanada€134,279
2Fergal O’CathanIreland€86,635
3Padraig O’NeillIreland€61,885
4Roope TarmiFinland€47,605
5Ian DrakeIreland€36,615
6Bert StevensFrance€28,165
7Jamie DwanUnited Kingdom€22,530
8Narcis Cristian OlaruSpain€18,025
9Jani TuovinenFinland€15,020
10Conor Liam BerginIreland€12,520
11Michel MolenaarNetherlands€12,520
12Conor BeresfordEngland€10,435
13Keith JohnsonUnited Kingdom€10,435
14Ankit AhujaIndia€8,700
15Tomas GeleziunasIreland€8,700