

After four days of poker-filled madness at Dublin's Burlington Hotel, Englishman James Mitchell was crowned champion of The Irish Open 2010.

The 20-year-old beat 707 players to the first place prize of €600,000 including big names such as Dan Harrington, Brian Townsend, Kara Scott, Christer Johansson, Neil Channing, and finally heads-up opponent Irishman Paul Carr in what turned out to be an explosive event overall.

There were tormenting twists and turns heads up, particularly in the following three hands:

Carr bet 150,000 on the button and Mitchell popped it to 450,000. Carr then shoved and Mitchell went into the tank. Finally he made the call for his tournament life and showed A 6. Carr revealed pocket queens. As tension peaked on the tournament floor with dozens of supporters railing the two young men, the board was slowly dealt.

Carr remained ahead on the K♣ 9♠ 3♠ 7♥ board, but howls could soon be heard from miles away as an ace dropped on the river. A dejected and shocked Carr saw most of his stack go to the hands of Mitchell, and he was left with just 700,000 in chips.

The next important hand to mention is when Mitchell moved all in on the button and Carr made the call. Carr showed A 5 while Mitchell flipped over K 6 . The board fell 9 2 2 2 7 8 and Carr doubled up to 1.4 million, decreasing Mitchell's stack to 5.6 million. This ray of hope livened up a rail filled with Irish friends, fans, and local well-wishers.

Finally, Mitchell picked up A * 8* and raised to 160,000 on the button. Carr made the call with Q 5 • and the flop came down J 4 J • 8 •. Carr checked, Mitchell bet 205,000 and Carr shoved all in in what was to be the final hand of the event. Carr needed help but none came as the turn and river fell 4 • and 8 • .

The final table featured some fantastic play and exciting races but in the end the Terry Rogers memorial trophy and first place prize of $\leq 600,000$ leaves Ireland for England, and Carr must settle for the $\leq 312,600$ second place prize.

THE FINAL TABLE PAYOUTS FROM THIRD PLACE TO EIGHT WERE:

SEAT	PLAYER	CHIPS
3.	Santeri Valikoski	205,200
4.	Robert Sherwood	163,300
5.	Ben Roberts	130,600
6.	Ed Sweeney	100,800
7.	Declan Connolly	74,600
8.	Peter Murphy	56,000