



## 2012 CHAMPION KEVIN VANDERSMISSEN

Kevin Vandersmissen from Belgium won the €3,200 + €300 buy in Irish Open 2012 beating 501 opponents to lift the top prize of €420,000.

The young pro, already with over \$1 million in tournament earnings in just over two years, came from being the short stack at the start of the final table to beat long-time final table chip leader Thomas Beer from Germany heads up.

The final table, sequestered at the Burlington Hotel, Dublin so that the live stream could show hole cards live, got off to a train wreck start for the only two Irish players at the table, Andy Blackand Philip Magennis who ran A-K and Q-Q respectively into Beer's A-A preflop. Both busted on hand five.

David "Dixie" Dean, many people's idea of the possible winner after he doggedly held on with some unconventional play, finally busted in third on hand 157 after his short stacked K-5 ran into Vandersmissen's A-A giving the Belgian the chip lead of 5.5 million against Beer's 4.5 million going into heads up.

This duel lasted just under 20 hands as Vandersmissen cleverly used his chips to beat

Beer down and the final hand saw Beer find A  $\bullet$  K  $\bullet$  on the button. He saw his 160,000-chip min-raise called by Vandersmissen with 9  $\bullet$  7  $\bullet$  and the flop fell 9  $\bullet$  4  $\bullet$  3  $\bullet$ .

Vandersmissen checked, Beer bet 200,000, Vandersmissen check-raised to 480,000, and Beer counted out an 800,000-chip re-raise. Vandersmissen pushed all his seven million plus chips in, and Beer made the call but the turn and river were no help and Beer was relegated to runner up as Vandersmissen began his celebrations.

He said when presented with the €420,000 cheque, "I feel pretty happy. It's my first big tournament that I've won. I tried to do my best. I felt pretty comfortable. I had to double up in the beginning and had to play very tight but as you saw I'm not afraid to bluff!"

Fifty-four players were paid in the tournament including some notables such as Nick Abou Risk (51st –  $\epsilon$ 6,900), James Dempsey (34th –  $\epsilon$ 9,400), Phil Hellmuth (33rd –  $\epsilon$ 9,400), Manig Loeser (30th –  $\epsilon$ 9,400), Freedy Deeb (27th –  $\epsilon$ 11,200), Kenneth Hicks (20th –  $\epsilon$ 11,200), Julian Gardner(18th –  $\epsilon$ 13,150), Jason Wheeler (15th –  $\epsilon$ 15,400), and Adam Levy (14th –  $\epsilon$ 15,400).

## Here is a look at the payouts and Player of the Year points awarded at the final table:

Place	Player	Prize
1.	Kevin Vandersmissen	€420,000
2.	Thomas Beer	€225,000
3.	David "Dixie" Dean	€158,000
4.	Ian Simpson	€107,500
5.	Steve Watts	€78,000
6.	Jordan Lewis	€59,000
7.	Samuel Chartier	€44,500
8.	Andy Black	€32,700
9.	Philip Magennis	€23,000