Vazquez Gomez Tops Day 1 of €3,000 High Roller; Ju and Stevens Among Big Stacks

Vazquez Gomez Tops Day 1 of €3,000 High Roller; Ju and Stevens Among Big Stacks

Alejandro Vazquez Gomez

The first day of Event 27 €3,000 Irish Open High Roller Championship Event drew a staggering field of 157 entries and generated a prize pool of €420,956. Both numbers for this latest latest higher-stakes tournament of the 2024 Irish Open at the Royal Dublin Society are subject to change, as the late registration remains open until the start of Day 2 on Sunday, March 31, 2024, at noon local time.

All late entrants will start their journey with 50,000 in chips, good enough for just shy of 17 big blinds in level 11 at blinds of 1,500-3,000 and a big blind ante of 3,000. More than nine times as many chips belong to Alejandro Vazquez Gomez, who topped the leaderboard with 458,000.

He is well ahead of his nearest two followers, Marvis Cooper (310,500) and Orestis Kanakopoulos (304,000), who both advanced with more than 100 blinds for the restart. Among the notables in the overnight top ten are also German businessman and high-stakes player Samuel Ju (249,000) as well as online poker legend Bert “girafganger7” Stevens (227,500).

Bert Stevens

Top 10 Chip Counts After Day 1

PlacePlayerCountryChip CountsBig Blinds
1Alejandro Vazquez GomezSpain458,000153
2Marvis CooperUnited Kingdom310,500104
3Orestis KanakopoulosGreece304,000101
4Niall MurrayUnited Kingdom262,00087
5Samuel JuGermany249,00083
6Rutger HennenNetherlands239,50080
7Elias FiszNetherlands237,00079
8Bert StevensBelgium227,50076
9Marco MeisserSwitzerland221,50074
10Gabriel RymarPoland207,50069

The PokerStars ambassadors Fintan Hand and Benjamin Spragg spent the late stages of Day 1 on the same table with the former advancing with a stack of 172,000. Spragg made it through with 96,500 while his better half Marle Spragg was among the notable casualties.

More than half of the field fell during the ten levels of 40 minutes each with other big names such as Jon Kyte, Padraig O’Neill, Michel Molenaar, Florian Duta, and Benny Glaser all joining the rail. Whether or not any of them will jump back in at the last minute remains to be seen.

The €5,000 High Roller champion Parker Talbot was not seen in the tournament either, but likewise has the chance to sign up prior to noon local time for a spin to the next win.