Smashing records on Day 1c of the Irish Open Main Event

If you thought yesterday was busy – with a record-breaking 644 runners in the Main Event, then you’re going to be simply blown away by Day 1c today. People have flown in from all over the world for this one – and, at the time of writing, the field has already soared to over 980 entries.

The Irish Open is a single re-entry per flight, best-stack forward event and given that there are three €115 satellites on today plus a Day 1d turbo at 10pm tonight, players have plenty of chances to have a crack at the €1 million guaranteed prize pool.  

In today’s field are PokerStars Ambassador Ben Spragg, Surinder Sunar, Alex Talica – who won his seat in a promotion, Jason Tompkins, Debs Worley-Roberts, Feargal Nealon, Dermot Blain, Waheed Ashraf, Kevin Killeen, Paul Newey, Fraser MacIntyre, Jamie Nixon, Padraig Parkinson, Elizabeth Bennett-Martin, Will Kassouf and Mick Graydon. Defending champion Steve O’Dwyer and 2013 champion Ian Simpson are both having another go after busting 1b yesterday. With an absolute ton of online PokerStars and Paddy Power qualifiers competing at this year’s Irish Open (more than 550!), we always knew the event was going to attract huge numbers.

Debs Worley-Roberts

See schedule here. PokerNews is covering the Main Event; live updates for all other events are on the Irish Open blog.

April 7 schedule

12:00 Event 11: €1 Million Guaranteed MAIN EVENT €1,150 Day 1C
12:00 Event 22: €115 Main Event Turbo Satellite – 5 Seats Guaranteed
16:00 Event 23: €115 Main Event Turbo Satellite – 5 Seats Guaranteed
18:00 Event 24: €115 Main Event Turbo Satellite – 5 Seats Guaranteed

NB Event 25, the 8pm €150 NLH Deepstack has been cancelled.


Tom Ward
Award-winning commentator James Hartigan is on camera for this event …